2023/24 Fully Funded Stephen Young Global Leaders’ Scholarship Programme

NGENGE-POSTGRAD SOLUTIONS IS HERE TO HELP YOU: NPGS has an Application Help Service with a  team of highly experienced professionals to help you find a position or prepare a CV or Cover Letter. Our professional experts can also apply for you from A to Z.

Application Deadline: July 31, 2023.

The Stephen Young Global Leaders’ Scholarship Programme (SYGL) seeks to honour Professor Stephen Young, a former Head of the Department of Marketing and Dr Charles Huang’s supervisor and mentor during his PhD studies. In his memory, the Charles Huang Foundation donation will fund up to five scholarship awards each year for scholars of exceptional merit undertaking the Strathclyde MBA on a full-time study basis (one year) in Glasgow starting September 2023.

Eligibility Criteria:

The Stephen Young Global Leaders’ Scholarship Programme is open to any outstanding candidate who believes that they meet our eligibility requirements and strongly reflect the values outlined in our criteria guidelines. We embrace diversity and strongly encourage applications from under-represented groups, particularly Black, Asian and minority ethnic communities, women, LGBT+, disabled candidates and candidates from lower socio-economic groups.

Irrespective of your background, all applicants must meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • you must meet the admissions criteria for the Strathclyde full-time MBA programme, hold a current offer on this programme for your chosen year of study and accept this offer before making a separate application to the Stephen Young Global Leaders’ Scholarship Programme. You must be able to demonstrate exceptional academic merit in your application for the Stephen Young Global Leaders’ Scholarship Programme. For example, a first-class undergraduate degree from a UK University, or equivalent academic qualification from a comparable non-UK institution
  • you must be a self-funded student who does not have access to other sources of funding such as corporate sponsorship or alternative scholarship funding
  • if you are short-listed, you will be required to attend a formal interview (either in person or virtually)

Eligible Nationalities:

Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, American Samoa, Andorra, Angola, Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bermuda, Bhutan, Bolivia , Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, British Indian Ocean Territory (BIOT), British Virgin Islands, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Myanmar, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Cape Verde, Cayman Islands, Central African Republic, Chad, Channel Islands, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus (European Union), Cyprus (Non-European Union), Czech Republic, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Timor Leste, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, England, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Falkland Islands , Faroe Islands, Fiji, Finland, France , Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Grenada, Guam, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran , Iraq, Ireland, Isle of Man, Israel, Italy, Cote Divoire, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Korea (North) , Korea (South), Kosovo, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macao (Special Administrative Region of China) , Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Marshall Islands, Martinique, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Montserrat, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Northern Ireland, Northern Mariana Islands, Norway, Occupied Palestinian Territories , Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Pitcairn Henderson Ducie and Oeno Islands , Poland, Portugal , Puerto Rico, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Rwanda, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Scotland, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Georgia and The South Sandwich Islands, South Sudan, Spain, Sri Lanka, St Helena Ascension and Tristan da Cunha, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Sudan, Surinam, Eswatini, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Turks and Caicos Islands, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vatican City, Venezuela, Vietnam, Wales, Western Sahara, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Further Information:

The selection process for the scholarship will be as follows:

    • all applications submitted online via a formal application form, will be shortlisted by an Strathclyde Business School panel. Thereafter, a Selection Committee will be appointed to consider all short-listed applications
    • the Selection Committee will be chaired by the Executive Dean of the Business School or his/her nominee and include the Academic Director of the Business School MBA programme and other senior academic representatives.
    • decisions of the Selection Committee shall be made by simple majority. If a decision cannot be reached, the Chair shall make the final decision
    • recommendations would be shared with the Donor; the University will make the final decisions on selection


  •  Up to five scholarships
  • Full Scholarship (Tuition and Living Costs)

Visit the official website for details and application


More Posts
Send Us A Message